理财建议

集体信用社 101

加入集体信用社很容易,根据所居住的城市或县您就可以成为会员。集体信用社通常能提供比银行更好的客户服务,因为当您作为会员加入时,就不仅只是一名客户,而是切身参与其中。

集体信用社

集体信用社是什么?

集体信用社和银行都是金融机构,为客户提供相似的服务,但是集体信用社是非营利性组织,这一点和银行不同。

集体信用社服务的是由共同"关联"维系在一起的某个社区,这一关联可能是地理区域、就业情况、在另一个协会中的会员资格、基于共同信仰的某些组织或其他与集体信用社无关的组织。

集体信用社以自身所能提供的最优惠的条件为社区提供财务服务。集体信用社通常会向其会员提供小额红利(向会员返还的款项)、优惠贷款利率、减免费用和其他优惠措施。

我的钱款安全吗?

银行中的资金由(美国)联邦存款保险公司提供担保,集体信用社中的资金则由(美国)全国信用协会管理局进行担保。每人每种所有权类型下的存款担保额为25万元。


更多有关集体信用社的信息请访问 nerdwallet 以及 消费者金融保护局 (CFPB) 的网站。

 

下一部分:  建立信贷记录

Money Tips

Credit Unions 101

It's easy to join a credit union, you can often become a member based just on what city or county you live in. Credit Unions often offer better customer service than banks because when you're a member you're not only a customer but a shareowner.

Credit Unions

What is a credit union?

Credit unions and banks are both financial institutions that provide similar services to consumers, however credit unions are non-profit organizations, while banks are for-profit organizations.

Credit unions exist to serve a community of people tied by a "bond of association," this could be through a geographical region, employment, membership in another association, faith-based organization, or some other organization that has nothing to do with the credit union.

Credit unions serve that community by providing financial services with the most favorable terms they can afford to offer. Credit unions often offer small dividends (payments returned to members), discounted loan rates, reduced fees and other benefits to its members.

Is my money safe?

Funds in banks are backed by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, and funds in credit unions are backed by the National Credit Union Administration. Deposits are insured up to $250,000 per person, per ownership category.


More information on credit unions can be found at nerdwallet and also the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB).

NEXT SECTION:  Building Credit